Abel Prize 2018

Abel Prize 2018 Awarded to Canadian mathematician Robert P. Langlands

Canadian mathematician Robert P. Langlands (81) has won prestigious Abel Prize 2018 for his visionary programme connecting representation theory to number theory.

He will receive the award from Norway’s King Harald V at an award ceremony in Oslo in May 2018.

Significance of Abel Prize

The Abel Prize was established on 1 January 2002. The purpose is to award the Abel Reward for outstanding scientific work in the field of mathematics.

The prize amount is 6 million NOK (about 750,000 Euro) and was awarded for the first time on 3 June 2003.

The Abel Award (Norwegian: Abelprisen) is a Norwegian prize awarded annually by the Government of Norway to one or more outstanding mathematicians.


  • Named after Norwegian mathematician Niels Henrik Abel (1802-1829) and modelled after the Nobel Prizes, the award was established in 2001 by the federal government of Norway and complements its sister reward in the humanities, the Holberg Prize.
  • It comes with a monetary award of 6 million Norwegian kroner (NOK) (around €650,000).
  • According to a reputation survey conducted in 2013 and 2014, it is the most exclusive international academic award in mathematics.

Canadian mathematician Robert P. Langlands wins Abel Prize 2018

Robert Langlands

  • Robert Phelan Langlands is an American-Canadian mathematician.
  • He is best known as the founder of the Langlands program, a vast web of conjectures and results linking representation theory and automorphic forms to the study of Galois groups in quantity theory, for which he received the 2018 Abel Reward.
  • He’s an emeritus professor and occupies Albert Einstein’s office at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton.

Read More……..

Similar Awards

Leave a reply:

Your email address will not be published.

Site Footer

Sliding Sidebar